Vielfalt, Gleichberechtigung & Zugehörigkeit

Ein Ally werden 

Als Angehörige einer Trans* Person wissen Anne Oto Herbst und Allison Cicero, wie entscheidend es ist, authentisch zu leben. Nur so findet man Glück im Leben und kann sein volles Potenzial im Beruf auszuschöpfen.

7min
undefined undefined
Veröffentlicht am May 17, 2021

Für Trans*-Personen ist es nicht immer einfach, am Arbeitsplatz akzeptiert zu werden. Unterstützung und Rückhalt können ihnen „Allies“, also Verbündete geben, damit sie ganz sie selbst sein können. Unsere Kolleginnen Allison Cicero und Anne Herbst Oto sind solche Verbündete. Als Angehörige von Trans*-Personen haben sie selbst Erfahrungen mit den Vorurteilen und Stereotypen gemacht, mit denen Trans*-Personen oft konfrontiert sind. Diese wollen sie als Mitglieder des Pride-Netzwerks bei Siemens Healthineers weitergeben und so dafür sorgen, dass Trans*-Personen sowohl am Arbeitsplatz als auch außerhalb mit Respekt behandelt werden. 

Allison Cicero, Werksleiterin bei Siemens Healthineers Diagnostics in Los Angeles, war 37 Jahre alt, als ihr Vater ihr mitteilte, dass er sich als Frau identifiziert habe und von nun an Renate und nicht mehr Richard sein würde. Die geschlechtsangleichende Operation hatte sie im Alter von 76 Jahren. Cicero hatte als Kind keine enge Beziehung zu ihrem Vater. Fast 20 Jahre gab es keinen Kontakt zwischen ihnen: „Ich habe sie immer als meinen biologischen Vater angesehen, aber sie war irgendwie nie ein richtiger Vater. Jetzt ist mir vieles klar geworden – sie hat sich in ihrer Haut nicht wohlgefühlt,“ erinnert sich Cicero.

Allison Cicero

Anne Herbst Oto, Senior Managing Editor bei Siemens Healthineers Laboratory Diagnostics, war nicht überrascht, als sich ihr Sohn als Transgender outete. Schon im Alter von sieben Jahren sprach Zane, dem bei der Geburt das weibliche Geschlecht zugewiesen wurde, über seine männliche Identität. Es war gerade Weihnachten, als er sie fragte: „Wenn es den Weihnachtsmann wirklich gibt, wünsche ich mir von ihm, dass er aus mir einen Jungen macht.“ Nach vielen Gesprächen akzeptierte sie schließlich seinen Wunsch. „Er hat sich nie wie ein Mädchen gefühlt, nie sein Leben als Mädchen gelebt,“ erinnert sich Herbst. <br><br>In der Öffentlichkeit wurde er aufgrund seiner Kleidung und der kurzen Haare häufig für einen Jungen gehalten. „Er fühlte sich am wohlsten, wenn er mit einem Jungen verwechselt wurde.“ Zane begann seinen körperlichen und gesellschaftlichen Geschlechtswechsel im Alter von 10 Jahren. „Heute fühlt es sich vollkommen natürlich an. Er lebt sein Leben als junger Mann in vollen Zügen, er hat eine Freundin, und bei den meisten seiner Freunde hat er sich geoutet,“ erzählt Oto.

Transgender people are people whose gender identity is different from the gender they were thought to be at birth. “Trans” is often used as shorthand for transgender. 

Transequality.org
<p>Nach einem langen und manchmal auch schwierigen Weg lebt Zane heute als Mann.</p>
Anne's son Zane standing in a park
<p>Oto brauchte viele Jahre und viel Unterstützung, um diesen Weg mitzugehen. In dieser Zeit hat sie viel Hilfe erhalten, für die sie sehr dankbar ist. „Es war sehr ermutigend zu sehen, was in unserem Unternehmen für <a href="Trans*" class="cp-fab-text-highlight">Trans*</a>-Angehörige getan wird,“ sagt Herbst. „Mein Sohn hatte eine geschlechtsangleichende Operation und meine Siemens-Versicherung hat etwa 90 Prozent davon abgedeckt. Alle waren sehr hilfsbereit, wenn ich Fragen zum Versicherungsvertrag meines Sohnes hatte.“ Es gab immer wieder auch schwierige Situationen, wie Mobbing oder sogar Selbstmordgedanken ihres Sohnes. Aber sie konnte sich auf die Hilfe von Beratern, Trans*-Mentoren und vielen Ärztinnen und Ärzten sowie von verschiedenen Verbänden und Allies verlassen. „Unsere Erfahrungen waren wirklich positiv. Sie können hoffentlich Menschen helfen, die Ähnliches durchmachen.“ </p>
Trans* meint die Tatsache, dass ein Mensch sich nicht dem Geschlecht zugehörig fühlt, dem er bei der Geburt zugeordnet wurde. Sie identifizieren sich als das jeweils andere Geschlecht, als zwischen den Geschlechtern oder ein bisschen von beidem.
<p>Zane und Anne nach einer seiner Shows. Zane strebt eine Karriere im Musiktheater <br>an einer Hochschule für darstellende Künste in New York City an.</p>
Anne and Zane with flowers in his hand behind the scenes of one of his shows.
Für Cicero war es am schwersten zu realisieren, dass ihre Mutter fast ihr ganzes Leben lang eine Lüge gelebt hatte. „Es muss schrecklich gewesen sein, als jemand zu leben, der man einfach nicht ist, als der man sich nicht wohlfühlt,“ sagt sie. Heute ist Cicero eine sehr engagierte Fürsprecherin, die ihrer Familie, aber auch anderen dabei helfen will zu verstehen, was ihre Mutter durchgemacht hat. „Renate hat mir mal gesagt, dass ich jede Gelegenheit nutzen solle, mich für das Thema einzusetzen.“ Und genau das tut Cicero, indem sie über ihre Geschichte spricht und als aktives Mitglied des PRIDE-Netzwerks bei Siemens Healthineers tätig ist.
Das PRIDE-Netzwerk bei Siemens Healthineers ist eine Gemeinschaft von Mitarbeitenden, die gemeinsam daran arbeiten, mehr Bewusstsein und Akzeptanz für homosexuelle, transsexuelle oder andere Person aus der LGBTQ+ (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender)-Gemeinschaft und deren Verbündeten zu schaffen.
Diversity & Inclusion

Allison Cicero

Als Oto sich dem PRIDE-Netzwerk anschloss, trug sie zur Schaffung einer geschlechtersensiblen Sprache bei, die nun in den aktuellen HR-Satzungen verwendet wird. „Ich habe meine direkten Kolleg*Innen für das Thema sensibilisiert, um dafür zu sorgen, dass unser Büro eine sichere Zone ist,“ sagt sie. Sie ist dankbar, auf diese Weise einen Beitrag leisten zu können. „Dieses Umfeld hat mich dazu ermutigt, meine Erfahrungen am Arbeitsplatz zu teilen. Wir reden viel darüber, unser Leben authentisch zu leben, und dazu gehört auch, Mutter oder Vater eines Trans*-Kindes zu sein.“
Hören Sie, was Anne Oto Herbst als Mutter eines Trans*-Kindes empfiehlt, um ein integratives Umfeld zu schaffen.
Was die beiden Frauen noch verbindet, ist ihr Einsatz, um ein Umfeld der Akzeptanz und Offenheit am Arbeitsplatz zu schaffen, in dem sich alle Menschen sowohl ihren Vorgesetzten als auch ihren Kolleg*Innen gegenüber öffnen können. Cicero legt zum Beispiel großen Wert auf eine offene Beziehung und ehrliche Gespräche innerhalb ihres Teams: „Zuhören ist entscheidend,“ sagt sie. „Ich möchte verstehen, was Menschen motiviert, was sie glücklich macht. Und ob sie in einer Rolle sind, die für sie persönlich passt.“ Für Cicero geht es vor allem um den Umfang miteinander. Ihr Rat lautet, neugierige Fragen zu vermeiden und „einfach zu akzeptieren, ohne zu urteilen“. <br><br>Die größte Herausforderung, der sich Mitarbeitende bei einem Geschlechtswechsel am Arbeitsplatz stellen müssen, ist der Umgang mit den Reaktionen ihrer Kolleg*Innen, Vorgesetzten oder sogar ihrer Kunden. „Ich glaube, was wir alle tun können, ist, die Menschen weiter aufzuklären, Unterstützung von der Personalabteilung anzubieten und ein hohes Maß an Bewusstsein zu schaffen,“ sagt Oto. Sie ist überzeugt davon, dass es viele Verbündete im Unternehmen gibt, die sehr gerne Unterstützung und Ressourcen zur Verfügung stellen würden, wenn mehr Hilfe benötigt wird, sei es die Personalabteilung oder Employee Resource Groups wie das PRIDE-Netzwerk. Cicero ist es wichtig, achtsam, freundlich und einfühlsam im Umgang mit anderen zu sein: „Das schafft eine Atmosphäre, in der sich andere trauen, auf mich oder andere Kolleg*Innen zuzugehen, wenn sie etwas Ernstes besprechen möchten.“

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion

Becoming an Ally

As family members of trans* Anne Oto Herbst and Allison Cicero know that living authentically is crucial to find happiness in life and reach full potential at work.

7min
Published on May 17, 2021

For transgender persons, finding acceptance in the workplace isn’t always easy. Allies can help them feel encouraged and safe to bring their whole selves to work. Our colleagues Allison Cicero and Anne Herbst Oto are such allies. They have their own personal experiences with trans family members and confront assumptions and stereotypes about trans people. As members of the PRIDE network at Siemens Healthineers they now want to pass on these experiences to ensure trans people are treated with respect both in and outside of the workplace. Here are their stories. 

<p>Allison Cicero, plant manager at Siemens Healthineers Diagnostics in Los Angeles, was 37 years old when her dad told her he identified as a woman and would be transitioning from Richard to Renate. She finally underwent gender confirmation surgery at 76 years of age. Allison didn’t have a close relationship with her dad when she was growing up. They had no contact with each other for almost 20 years: “I have always viewed her as my biological father, but she was never really a father to start with. I understand a lot of that now—she did not feel comfortable in her skin”, Allison remembers.</p>

Allison Cicero

<p>Anne Herbst Oto, Senior Managing Editor at Siemens Healthineers Laboratory Diagnostics, wasn't quite as surprised when her son came out as <a href="transgender" class="cp-fab-text-highlight">transgender</a>. Already at the age of seven, Zane, who was assigned female at birth, talked to her about his male identity. It was just before Christmas that year when he told her: “If Santa is real, then I’m going to ask him to make me a boy.” She started having serious conversations with him and eventually embraced his transition. <br><br>“He never felt like a girl, never lived his life as a girl,” Anne remembers. In public, people often thought he was a boy because of his short hair and the way he dressed. “He was most comfortable being ‘mistaken’ for a boy.” Zane started transitioning socially and physically when he was 10. “Now it feels completely natural. He lives his life fully as a young man, he has a girlfriend, and he is mostly ‘out’ with his friends,” says Anne. </p>

Transgender people are people whose gender identity is different from the gender they were thought to be at birth. “Trans” is often used as shorthand for transgender. 

Transequality.org
<p>After a long and sometimes difficult journey, today Zane lives his life as a man and is mostly out among his friends.</p>
Anne's son Zane standing in a park
It took Anne’s family many years and a lot of support to navigate this journey. She is grateful for all the help she received. “It has been very encouraging to see what is actually covered by our company for transgender dependents,” Anne says. “My son had two gender confirmation surgeries and the Siemens medical plan I had covered around 90 percent of it. They have been incredibly supportive whenever I had questions regarding my son’s health plan.” Additionally, when her son experienced common difficulties like bullying and suicidal thoughts, she found help from counsellors, trans mentors, and a whole range of doctors, but also from different ally associations. “I’m happy to say that our experience has been really positive and this can serve as a great example for people who may be going through similar difficulties.” Anne would now like to pass on this experience to help other transitioning individuals.
<p>Zane and Anne after one of his shows. He is working toward a career in acting at a performing arts college in New York City.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p>
Anne and Zane with flowers in his hand behind the scenes of one of his shows.
For Allison, the most difficult experience was realizing that her mom had lived a lie for almost her whole life. “It must have been terrible to live as someone that you’re just not, that you don’t feel comfortable being,” she says. Today, Allison is a very vocal advocate, helping her family and others understand what her mom has been through. “Renate told me that I should make the most of every opportunity, not to advocate but to educate.” And Allison does just this: by talking publicly about her story and as an active member of the <a href="PRIDE network" class="cp-fab-text-highlight">PRIDE network</a> at Siemens Healthineers.

The PRIDE Network at Siemens Healthineers is a community of employees working together to create an environment of awareness and acceptance for LGBTQIA+ employees and their allies. 

Diversity & Inclusion

Allison Cicero

When Anne joined the PRIDE network, she helped create a trans-inclusive language to be used in the current HR bylaws. “I worked on awareness to make sure my office was a safe zone for LGBTQIA+ colleagues”, she says. She is grateful to be able to contribute in this way. “In this environment, I really felt comfortable sharing my experience with other people within the same space. We’ve talked a lot about living our lives authentically and that also includes being a parent of a trans child.”

Hear Anne’s advice to build an inclusive environment from the eyes of a parent of a trans child.

Something else connecting the two women is their commitment to creating an environment of acceptance and openness in the workplace, in which all people are able to open up to both their managers and peers. Allison, for example, focuses on open relationships and honest conversations within her team: “Listening is critical”, she says, “I want to understand what motivates people, what makes them happy. And if they are in a role that is suited to them personally.” For her it’s a lot about how people should be treated in general. Her advice is to avoid nosy questions and “just accept without judgement.”<br><br> “The biggest challenge employees face when they transition in the workplace is dealing with the reactions of their peers, managers, or even their customers. “I think what we can all do is to keep educating people, offering HR support, and maintaining a high level of awareness”, says Anne. She is sure that there are many allies in the company who would be thrilled to provide support and resources if more assistance is required, whether through HR or employee resource groups, such as PRIDE. Allison strives to be mindful, friendly, and perceptive: “This sets the tone so that others can feel comfortable approaching me or other peers when they have something serious to talk about.”