SARS-CoV-2 IgG Assay<br />

SARS-CoV-2 IgG AssayMehr Sicherheit durch die richtigen Tests auf den richtigen Systemen

Die flächendeckende Durchführung schneller und zuverlässiger Antikörpertests ist eine wichtige Voraussetzung, um die Herausforderungen durch die COVID-19-Pandemie zu bewältigen. Im zeitlichen Verlauf einer SARS CoV-2 Infektion sind primär IgG-Antikörper nachweisbar.

Der SARS-CoV-2 IgG (COV2G) Assay* von Siemens Healthineers ist der erste semi-quantitative Test mit einer Notfallzulassung (Emergency Use Authorization, EUA) der FDA. Er kann Ärzte bei der Beurteilung des Immunstatus von Patienten im Zeitverlauf unterstützen.

“Being able to measure a patient’s relative level of antibodies in response to a previous SARS-CoV-2 infection may be useful as we continue to learn more about the virus and what the existence of antibodies may mean. There are still many unknowns about what the presence of SARS-CoV-2 antibodies may tell us about potential immunity, but today’s authorizations give us additional tools to evaluate those antibodies as we continue to research and study this virus.”
Tim Stenzel, M.D., Ph.D., Direktor des Office of In Vitro Diagnostics and Radiological Health beim Center for Devices and Radiological Health der FDA (Pressemitteilung lesen)

Auf den Dimension® und Dimension Vista®-Systemen können Ergebnisse bereits nach 16 Minuten ausgegeben werden. Auf dem Atellica® IM Analysesystem sind Ergebnisse nach 25 Minuten verfügbar – und das bei einem Durchsatz von bis zu 440 Assays pro Stunde§ und mit der hohen Sensitivität und Spezifität, die Labore von uns erwarten.

System

Sensitivität

Spezifität

Atellica® IM

100 %

99,95 %

ADVIA Centaur® XP/XPT

100 %

99,89 %

Dimension® EXL™

100 %

100 %

Dimension Vista®

100 %

100 %

COVID-19-Detektionsphasen

Wir bieten sowohl den SARS-CoV-2-IgG-Antikörpertest als auch den SARS-CoV-2-Gesamtantikörpertest an. Die Kombination aus diesen beiden Tests liefert ein vollständiges Bild vom Immunstatus eines Patienten – für optimale Ergebnisse in allen Behandlungsphasen.

SARS-CoV-2 IgG (COV2G)
Der COV2G-Test ist ein qualitativer und semi-quantitativer SARS-CoV-2-Antikörpertest zur Bestimmung der IgG-Antikörper-Konzentration in der Blutprobe eines Patienten. Er dient zur Hilfestellung bei der Beurteilung relativer Veränderungen des Antikörperstatus im Zeitverlauf. Der Test eignet sich besonders für die spätere Serokonversion. Dieser numerische Wert verschafft Ärzten einen hilfreichen Ausgangspunkt für die langfristige Verfolgung der Immunantwort eines Patienten. Anhand des Vergleichs numerischer Ergebnisse lässt sich die Entwicklung der Immunantwort eines Patienten und deren Fortdauer im Zeitverlauf beurteilen.

SARS-CoV-2-Gesamtantikörpertest (COV2T Assay)*
Der COV2T-Test erkennt sowohl IgM- als auch die länger persistierenden IgG-Antikörper mit einer Sensitivität von 100 % und einer Spezifität von 99,8 % für eine kürzlich durchgemachte oder länger zurückliegende Infektion. Gesamtantikörpertests können ergänzend zu PCR-Tests als Hilfestellung zur Beurteilung der Immunantwort eines Patienten in einer frühen Phase der Infektion und bei der klinischen Beurteilung verwendet werden.1,2

Der richtige Test

Wir haben die Rezeptor-Bindungsdomäne (RBD) des S1-Spike-Antigens gezielt ausgewählt, um Antikörper nachzuweisen, die den Eintritt des Virus in die Zellen blockieren können. Diese Auswahl orientiert sich an der Vielzahl der in der Entwicklung befindlichen Impfstoffe, die auf die SARS-CoV-2-S1-RBD gerichtet sind oder diese einschließen, um schützende Antikörper zu produzieren.

Der COV2G Assay erkennt Antikörper gegen das S1-RBD-Antigen. S1-RBD-Antikörper sind für Impfstoffe relevant, die auf diese immundominante Region abzielen, um bei geimpften Personen die Produktion neutralisierender (und daher wahrscheinlich schützender) Antikörper auszulösen.3 Das Spike-Protein und insbesondere die RBD stellen das häufigste Target bei der Entwicklung von Impfstoffkandidaten dar.

Infektionskrankheiten – Spezifität – Blasendiagramm

Der COV2G Assay liefert ein qualitatives (negativ/positiv) und semi-quantitatives (Indexwert) Ergebnis zur Bestimmung der IgG-Antikörper-Konzentration in der Blutprobe eines Patienten als Hilfestellung zur Beurteilung relativer Veränderungen im Zeitverlauf.

Der nun zusätzlich verfügbare Indexwert eines semi-quantitativen IgG-Ergebnisses ist ein wichtiger Schritt im Rahmen der weltweiten Bemühungen zur Beurteilung der Immunität von getesteten Personen. Dieser numerische Wert verschafft Ärzten einen besseren Ausgangspunkt für die langfristige Überwachung der Immunantwort eines Patienten auf das SARS-CoV-2-Virus.

Warum es auf die Spezifität ankommt
Eine hohe Spezifität ist entscheidend für die Zuverlässigkeit eines Antikörpertests. Die Leitlinien der Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) der USA für COVID-19-Antikörpertests geben an, dass „die Auswahl eines Tests mit einer sehr hohen Spezifität, womöglich 99,5 % oder höher, zu einem hohen positiven Vorhersagewert bei Tests in Populationen mit einer Prävalenz > 5 % führt“.2 Der Anspruch, Antikörper gegen das Virus nachweisen zu können, wird für zahlreiche Tests erhoben, doch nur ein kleiner Prozentsatz hat sich als präzise erwiesen.4

Spezifität des SARS-CoV-2 IgG Assays

  • Atellica IM: 99,95 %
  • ADVIA Centaur XP/XPT: 99,89 % 
  • Dimension EXL: 100 %
  • Dimension Vista: 100 %

 

Die richtigen Systeme

Die Zukunft des Gesundheitswesens gestalten – COVID-19-Tests

Zuverlässige und schnelle SARS-CoV-2-Antikörpertestung in großem Umfang sowohl für Referenzlabore als auch Akutversorgungseinrichtungen
Der COV2G Assay kann auf zahlreichen Systemen eingesetzt werden, wie u. a.:

So werden zuverlässige SARS-CoV-2-Antikörpertestungen in großem Umfang sowohl für Referenzlaboratorien als auch Akutversorgungseinrichtungen ermöglicht. Die Tests liefern schnelle Ergebnisse – das Atellica IM Analysesystem bietet eine Kapazität von bis zu 440 Tests pro Stunde§.

Mit weltweit mehr als 20.000 aktiven Analysesystemen** und einer Steigerung der Produktionskapazität auf mehr als 50 Millionen Tests pro Monat trägt Siemens Healthineers dazu bei, der Bedrohung durch COVID-19 entgegenzuwirken.

1

2

3

4

SARS-CoV-2 IgG Assay<br />

SARS-CoV-2 IgG Assay

Secure your community with science and scale

Rapid and accurate antibody testing on a large scale is key to address the challenges of the COVID-19 pandemic. Over time, SARS-CoV-2 IgG antibodies remain the primary antibodies present.

The Siemens Healthineers SARS-CoV-2 IgG (COV2G) Assay* is the first FDA EUA-authorized semi-quantitative assay to help clinicians assess the level of an individual‘s immune response over time.

“Being able to measure a patient’s relative level of antibodies in response to a previous SARS-CoV-2 infection may be useful as we continue to learn more about the virus and what the existence of antibodies may mean. There are still many unknowns about what the presence of SARS-CoV-2 antibodies may tell us about potential immunity, but today’s authorizations give us additional tools to evaluate those antibodies as we continue to research and study this virus.”
Tim Stenzel, M.D., Ph.D., Director of the Office of In Vitro Diagnostics and Radiological Health in the FDA’s Center for Devices and Radiological Health (read press release)

Results can be produced in as little as 16 minutes on the Dimension® and Dimension Vista® Systems and 25 minutes on the Atellica® IM Analyzer with a capacity to process up to 440 assays per hour§ along with the sensitivity and specificity laboratories have come to expect from us.

System

Sensitivity

Specificity

Atellica® IM

100%

99.95%

ADVIA Centaur® XP/XPT

100%

99.89%

Dimension® EXL™

100%

100%

Dimension Vista®

100%

100%

COVID19 Detection Phases

We offer both the SARS-CoV-2 IgG antibody assay and the SARS-CoV-2 Total antibody assay. The combination of these assays provides a complete picture of a patient’s serological status for the most accurate results throughout his or her continuum of care.

SARS-CoV-2 IgG (COV2G) Qualitative and Semi-quantitative Assay
The COV2G assay is a qualitative and semi-quantitative SARS-CoV-2 antibody assay that enables clinicians to detect the level of IgG antibodies in a patient’s blood sample and assess relative changes over time. The assay is more appropriate for later seroconversion. With this numerical value, clinicians will have a baseline and be better equipped to track the long-term duration of an individual’s immune response. Comparison of numerical results will help determine how the immune response develops in an individual and persists over time.

SARS-CoV-2 Total (COV2T) Assay*
The COV2T assay detects both IgM and longer-lasting IgG antibodies with 100% sensitivity and 99.8% specificity for recent and prior infection. Total antibody assays can be used as an adjunct to PCR tests to identify a patient’s immune response during early infection and aid in clinical assessment.1,2

The Science

We smartly selected the receptor-binding domain (RBD) of the S1 spike antigen to detect antibodies that block the virus entry into the cells. This selection is aligned with the multiple vaccines in development that target or include the SARS-CoV-2 S1 RBD used in our assay, with the goal of producing protective antibody.

The COV2G assay detects antibodies to the S1 RBD antigen. S1 RBD antibodies are relevant to vaccines incorporating this immunodominant region to elicit neutralizing (and therefore likely protective) antibodies in vaccinated subjects.3 The spike protein and particularly the RBD are the most common target of vaccine designs.

 

infectious_disease_specificity_bubble_chart

The COV2G assay provides a qualitative (negative/positive) and semi-quantitative (index value) result that enables clinicians to detect the level of IgG antibodies in a patient’s blood sample and assess relative changes over time.

The addition of a semi-quantitative IgG result is an important step in the global pursuit to establish an individual’s immunity. With this numerical value, clinicians will have a baseline and be better equipped to assess changes of an individual’s immune response to the SARS-CoV-2 virus.

Why Specificity Matters
High specificity is crucial for an accurate antibody assay. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention guidelines for COVID-19 antibody testing states, “choosing a test with a very high specificity, perhaps 99.5% or greater, will yield a high positive predictive value in populations tested with prevalence >5%.”2 There are numerous tests that claim to detect antibodies to the virus, but only a small percentage have been shown to be highly accurate.4

SARS-CoV-2 IgG Assay Specificity

  • Atellica IM: 99.95%
  • ADVIA Centaur XP/XPT: 99.89% 
  • Dimension EXL: 100%
  • Dimension Vista: 100%

 

The Scale

Shaping the future of healthcare &ndash; COVID-19 testing

Reliable and rapid SARS-CoV-2 antibody testing on a large scale for both reference laboratories and acute care settings
The COV2G assay can be used with a full range of systems such as the:

This enables accurate SARS-CoV-2 antibody testing on a large scale for both reference laboratories and acute care settings. The assays produce results rapidly—with a capacity to process up to 440 assays per hour§ on the Atellica IM Analyzer.

We offer hope that the goal of effective management of the threat of COVID-19 is within reach with a global installed base of over 20,000 instruments** and a manufacturing capability to produce over 50 million tests a month.