The Mansfield Research Innovation Award (The MRI Award) is presented in association with Siemens Healthineers.
Winners of The Mansfield Research Innovation Award (The MRI Award) in association with Siemens Healthineers were presented with their awards recently.

Sep 17, 2019

Professor Sir Peter Mansfield died in 2017 at the age of 83. Together with Paul Lauterbur, the physicist won the 2003 Nobel prize in Physiology or Medicine for developing magnetic resonance imaging (MRI). His achievement was even more remarkable in that he had started his working life as an apprentice printer after leaving school aged 15, having been advised by a careers teacher that he was not ‘bright enough’ to be a scientist.

In recognition of Sir Peter’s contribution to Magnetic Resonance, Siemens Healthineers donated funds to support early career level, postdoctoral researchers wishing to travel to the International Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine (ISMRM) annual exhibition to present an accepted oral presentation of their work in an innovative field of MRI.

The recipients are members of the British Chapter of the ISMRM who attended the international meeting in Montreal last year having submitted scientific abstracts in a category related to neurology, cancer, interventional radiology, molecular imaging, physics or engineering. This is awarded at the yearly meeting of the BCISMRM which is sponsored by Siemens Healthineers.

The two scientists gaining the top review scores in their category were announced as Dr Lars Mueller, Research Scientist from Cardiff University, who focused on the development of new techniques (sequences) for magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), and Dr Aurelian Bustin, Research Associate in Cardiovascular Imaging at King’s College, London.

Craig Buckley, Head of Research and Scientific Collaborations for Siemens Healthineers, said: “The standard was incredibly high again this year, which is testament to the talented researchers we have in GB&I and as always it is incredibly difficult to decide, we have two very worthy winners of the award."

Share this page:

Related Articles