Neonatal Hypocalcemia: The role of ionized calcium

Monet Sayegh, MD
Physician and Senior
Clinical Consultant
|2021-02-24
Monet Sayegh, MD

Monet Sayegh, MD
Physician and Senior
Clinical Consultant

Wednesday, February 24, 2021 
16:00 GMT | 17:00 CET | 8:00 PST | 11:00 EST

In this webinar, Dr. Monet Sayegh reviews calcium metabolism with a focus on early and late onset of neonatal hypocalcemia, utilizing an actual case report. Both calcium and ionized calcium are discussed, in detail, in conjunction with the role of magnesium, serum albumin, phosphate, blood pH, and Vitamin D play in the proper diagnosis of hypocalcemia.

  • Gain an understanding of the types, causes, and treatment of neonatal hypocalcemia.
  • Understand the factors that can influence the concentration of ionized calcium.
  • Appreciate the complexity involved in the diagnosis of hypocalcemia in patients. 

  • Those interested in hypocalcemia, particularly in the neonatal and young children population
  • Clinicians that need to understand the other analyte concentrations that can affect ionized calcium levels
  • Those interested in treatment options for early or late onset of neonatal hypocalcemia
  • Diagnostic tests to consider when evaluating hypocalcemia 

Attendees are entitled to P.A.C.E. credits from the ASCLS and/or ACCENT credits from the AACC.