High-Sensitivity Troponin Webinar Series

Part 1: The 4 Lies of High-Sensitivity Troponin
Part 2: Time: The Most Precious Resource 

Dr. W. Frank Peacock,
MD, FACEP, FACC, FESC
Professor, Vice Chair Research
Emergency Medicine
Baylor College of Medicine
|2021-02-11
Dr. W. Frank Peacock

Dr. W. Frank Peacock,
MD, FACEP, FACC, FESC
Professor, Vice Chair for Research
Henry JN Taub Department of Emergency Medicine
Baylor College of Medicine

Part 1: Thursday, February 11th, 2021 
16:00 GMT / 17:00 CET / 8:00 PST / 11:00 EDT

Part 2: Thursday, March 18th, 2021
16:00 GMT / 17:00 CET / 8:00 PST / 11:00 EDT

These webinars will review the utilization of troponin assays in the assessment of Acute Coronary Syndrome (ACS). This will highlight the differences between contemporary troponin vs. high-sensitivity troponin and the role each play in the assessment of patients presenting with ischemic equivalent symptoms in the emergency department (ED). Specifically, four key areas will be explained around the use of troponin in the ED setting that will help to clarify its use when understood properly. In addition, a discussion around the importance of time in delivering diagnosis and care in the ED, and the impact of point of care will be explained.

  • The attendee will learn the advantages in the use of high-sensitivity troponin over contemporary troponin

  • After participating in these programs, attendees will be able to describe how the use of high-sensitivity troponin may impact the management of patients presenting in the ED as it relates to diagnosis, operational efficiency and cost

  • Attendees will become familiar with the impact of delayed care in the ED setting and the value of point of care may have in improving clinical outcomes and operational efficiencies

  • Those interested in the assessment and management of Acute Myocardial Infarction in emergency departments

  • Those interested in reviewing data on the evolution of cardiac troponin performance and clinical utility

  • ED, laboratory and/or administrators interested in potential improvements in emergency care and rapid disposition of patients with suspected ACS

Attendees are entitled to P.A.C.E. credits from the ASCLS and/or ACCENT credits from the AACC.

Attendees must participate both webinars to receive full credit.